VUE Render vs Terragen 2
Solar Voyager : Digital Creations

Posted in Digital Creations
Members Viewing Topic: None

Post New TopicPost Reply
Prev Topic :: Next Topic
Author Message
  Jeemais

Avatar
Sentient Life-form
Sentient Life-form

Joined: 2010-August-17
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 36
Posted: 2010-September-10 at 1:10pm | IP Logged Quote Jeemais

Hi fellas,

I have a crucial question about these two pieces of
software: which one has shortest render times?

I ask this because I saw works from both and they all
look photo-realistic but having tried VUE 8 I had to put
it aside straight away as I cannot render a single frame
at production level without having to wait the actual end
of the Universe, so I'm hoping that Terragen 2
rendering engine might be faster.

thank you
  Status: Offline
View Jeemais's Profile Search for other posts by Jeemais
 
  regulus

Avatar
Celestial Watchman
Celestial Watchman

Joined: 2005-August-25
Location: United States
Posts: 2325
Posted: 2010-September-10 at 1:35pm | IP Logged Quote regulus

Well i cannot compare the two, i've never learned Vue, but I can tell you I usually render 1920x1200 in TG2 with all the quality settings around 90% and it can take anywhere from an hour or two, to a day or two for a complicated scene (I have an Intel 2core, with 2gb ram) Actually 'Marooned' was rendered at 3600x2250 and i believe it took under a day (JKelly rendered it) So TG2 is not terribly bad, but there are some settings and limits to watch out for (things like "don't put antialiasing above 6 because it doesn't improve the image, but increases render time")

Try the forums below, there is a lot of info here

http://forums.planetside.co.uk/index.php?board=1.0

Also did you see these posts fom earlier? The first is a comparison of Vue and TG2

http://www.solarvoyager.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=6932&a mp;a mp;PN=1

http://www.solarvoyager.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=6919&a mp;a mp;PN=1


__________________
Levitated Art
  Status: Offline
View regulus's Profile Search for other posts by regulus Visit regulus's Homepage
 
  tsarye

Avatar
Esoteric Dreamer
Esoteric Dreamer

Joined: 2007-October-15
Location: United States
Posts: 90
Posted: 2010-September-10 at 2:56pm | IP Logged Quote tsarye

Your system specs are going to play a major part in the length of time it takes to render a scene.  I would  recommend not trying to render in Vue anything of substantial resolution without having at least 4GB of RAM.  I would further note that running a 4 Core machine on a 64-bit OS with 8+ GB of Ram would be ideal without spending a huge amount of money.  Obviously anything better than that would be of added benefit.

Lower systems specs are going to be a big speed bump in getting the performance you'd like, as no matter how fast the program, all those polygons have to be computed by the CPU eventually.

I've used both Vue and Terragen 2.  I have major issues wrapping my head around Terragen and as such I prefer Vue.  The longest I've had to wait on a render that I've actually used was probably 3 hours, rendered at 3840x1080 with the best quality possible.




__________________
Portfolio Site
Deviant
Behance
  Status: Offline
View tsarye's Profile Search for other posts by tsarye Visit tsarye's Homepage
 
  Jeemais

Avatar
Sentient Life-form
Sentient Life-form

Joined: 2010-August-17
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 36
Posted: 2010-September-10 at 8:10pm | IP Logged Quote Jeemais

Thanks for the links regulus, they were useful,

I've had a look at those and essentially what I get is
that TG2 is harder to use and with similar render times.

tsarye, I have a quad x64 OS and 8GB ram which are
great while working in VUE but it takes me around 1
hour just to render a terrain with atmosphere and
clouds at 1280x720 preview (I don't abuse AA if I dont
have very fine textures or geometry). I reckon it is ok
for a still, but for an animation is just not worth. What I
do is export terrain, sky box, etc. to 3ds max and
render with v-ray or other, and was wondering if I could
do different with TG2, importing models from 3ds max
and use TG2 render, but I'm understanding that it will
probably be the same.
  Status: Offline
View Jeemais's Profile Search for other posts by Jeemais
 
  JanL

Avatar
Celestial Watchman
Celestial Watchman

Joined: 2003-September-10
Location: United States
Posts: 5603
Posted: 2010-September-11 at 12:23pm | IP Logged Quote JanL

Morning Jeemais,  what you can do is render a simple sphere on a black background, same resolution and pixel size in 3DMax, Vue, and Terragen 2.  With my computer (also a quad and 6GB of Ram it takes me about 2 seconds, in Poser 8, Carrara 7 Pro, and Vue 7 Studio Pro.  You will need to get as close to apples as you can and not comparing apples and oranges.  Once you get that, then try a model, convert it to an .obj and try it same settings.  Jan
  Status: Offline
View JanL's Profile Search for other posts by JanL
 
  Jeemais

Avatar
Sentient Life-form
Sentient Life-form

Joined: 2010-August-17
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 36
Posted: 2010-September-11 at 2:02pm | IP Logged Quote Jeemais

Thanks for your opinion jan,

what I was trying to achieve was properly to avoid
downloading TG2 and time the renders from the
different engines myself by listening to someone else
that went through that already. In the end I found a
few great, explanatory posts, I hope they may be useful
to someone else too:

see 'phamarus' post here:
http://www.spinquad.com/forums/showthread.php?
25757-Terragen-2-or-Vue

see 'Bluestorm' post here:
http://forums.planetside.co.uk/index.php?
topic=8591.30

Like my guts feeling (and regulus links) pointed out,
Vue an TG2 aren't too far apart (in rendering times) but
TG2 can give better results.
  Status: Offline
View Jeemais's Profile Search for other posts by Jeemais
 
  regulus

Avatar
Celestial Watchman
Celestial Watchman

Joined: 2005-August-25
Location: United States
Posts: 2325
Posted: 2010-September-11 at 4:15pm | IP Logged Quote regulus

Thanks for the other links too


__________________
Levitated Art
  Status: Offline
View regulus's Profile Search for other posts by regulus Visit regulus's Homepage
 
  Floydier

Avatar
Cosmic Enigma
Cosmic Enigma

Joined: 2003-July-24
Location: United States
Posts: 1284
Posted: 2010-September-11 at 7:00pm | IP Logged Quote Floydier

From experience VUE takes much shorter time, Terragen 2 takes a much longer time. It's always depending on your rendering settings too though.

TG2 takes decent chunk of my time on my Core 2 Quad Q8300 2.5 GHz,
6GB DDR2. But I really havent tested vue on this machine much anymore, but I know Vue "can" be faster.

x.x but hey cant wait to see what you make!


__________________
portfolio of artwork
  Status: Offline
View Floydier's Profile Search for other posts by Floydier Visit Floydier's Homepage
 
  Jeemais

Avatar
Sentient Life-form
Sentient Life-form

Joined: 2010-August-17
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 36
Posted: 2010-September-11 at 7:36pm | IP Logged Quote Jeemais

Very nice floydier, thanks for that,

is good to listen a point of view from personal experience
  Status: Offline
View Jeemais's Profile Search for other posts by Jeemais
 
<< Prev Topic Digital Creations Next Topic >>

If you wish to post a reply to this topic you must first login
If you are not already registered you must first register

  Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Forum Jump


This page was generated in 0.3550 seconds.