Posted in Digital Creations
Members Viewing Topic: None

Prev Topic :: Next Topic
  space4man

Esoteric Dreamer
Esoteric Dreamer

Posted: 2010-May-14 at 10:26am | IP Logged Quote space4man

Hi folks,

I've never used Terragen or Vue. In fact the last 3D landscape software I used was Mojoworld 3 - which I think came out 5 years ago and has not been updated since.

So what do folks think of the pros and cons of Terragen 2 vs Vue?

Thanks, Jim

View space4man's Profile Search for other posts by space4man Visit space4man's Homepage

DarinK

Sentient Life-form
Sentient Life-form

Posted: 2010-May-14 at 1:48pm | IP Logged Quote DarinK

I'm not an expert at either software, but IMO Terragen 2 has better quality and realism than Vue 8. For me, Terragen is more difficult to learn than Vue. Vue seems to have a more logical layout and the way everything is set up makes more sense than Terragen. If you could combine the layout and features of Vue with the quality of Terragen that would  be an awesome software. One thing I've learned about both software is there aren't many tutorials available, and if you go to the Terragen forums very little is explained in terms that a beginner can understand. If you have a question they will tell you to do this or do that, but not really go into much detail about what each step does and how it affects the image.  
View DarinK's Profile Search for other posts by DarinK

Fahad

Cosmic Enigma
Cosmic Enigma

Posted: 2010-May-14 at 3:43pm | IP Logged Quote Fahad

I've found Terragen to be very potent. It can render photorealistic scenes, which is something I desire.You can operate on huge scales: from smallest pebble, to the largest planet (maybe even stars, if you've got that kinda mojo).

The downsides I know are:

1: The documentation on their web site leaves much to be desired.
2: Tutorials that are easy to follow are rare. Most tutorials only cover rookies.
3: The learning curve will make Rosie 'o Donell look anorectic.